Running Jobs

Once all necessary resources and settings have been set up for Projects and Targets, the Packages can be deployed on the target servers by running a job.There are several ways to run and rerun jobs or job plans in RapidDeploy. Jobs can typically be run and re-run from the 'My Job Plans' panel, from the 'Projects -> [Selected Project] -> 'Targets' panel, or from the 'Jobs -> 'Previous Jobs' panel.

You can run new jobs, replay jobs that have already been run, or run rollback or retry jobs. Below we cover each of these scenarios.

Run a new job from inside the project

You can run a job directly from within the project, for testing purposes. Go to 'Projects -> [Selected Project] -> 'Targets'. This is the simplest way to run a job. By default the latest release version is used for the job, but you can select other versions from the drop-down list. Select the 'Play' button from the action panel corresponding to the target you want to deploy to.

Run a one-off job or job plan from the 'New Job Plan' panel.

  • Go to 'Jobs' -> 'New Job Plan'. You will see a canvas with start and finish nodes and an empty project job box.
  • Select the '(Empty)' Project Job box, double click it (or select the green 'Edit' button).
  • Choose the required Project from the list.
  • Choose the required Target from the list.
  • Choose the required Version from the list.
  • Add additional steps as required.
  • Click the 'Run' button to run this job once, or save it as a 'Job Plan' if you will be rerunning it with the same or different versions later.

Running a Job Plan from the 'My Job Plans' Panel

You can run a Job Plan from the 'My Job Plans' panel.

  • Go to 'My Job Plans'. Choose the required plan from the list.
  • Either click the 'Play' button in the 'Action' panel for the required plan, or click on the plan name to go to the plan.
  • Inside the plan, select the 'Run' button in the bottom right hand corner to run the plan.

Re-running a Pipeline from the 'Previous Jobs' Panel

You can re-run a pipeline (but not a whole job plan) from the 'Previous Jobs' panel.

  • Go to 'Jobs -> 'Previous Jobs' panel. Select the 'Pipeline Jobs' tab. Choose the required pipeline from the list.
  • The 'Actions' pane on the right hand side of the page has various options, which might be different depending on the state of the pipeline that ran.
  • 'Play' button is used to start a completely new pipeline job, based on the selected one, from the beginning.
  • 'Retry' button is shown only for a failed pipeline. This allows for the pipeline execution to be restarted from the failure point, perhaps after some remedial actions have been taken.
  • 'Rollback' button is active only when the pipeline completed successfully and has a 'Rollback' pipeline associated with it. Clicking this button will initiate the rollback.
  • Pipeline types are colour coded red for failure pipeline, blue for rollback pipeline and turquoise for a deployment pipeline.

Re-running a Job from the 'Previous Jobs' Panel

You can re-run a job from the 'Previous Jobs' panel.

  • Go to 'Jobs -> 'Previous Jobs' panel. Select the 'Project Jobs' tab. Choose the required job from the list.
  • The 'Actions' pane on the right hand side of the page has various options, which might be different depending on the state of the job that ran.
  • 'Rollback' button is active only when the job completed successfully. Clicking this button will initiate a rollback to the last previously successful version deployed to this target.
  • 'Play' button will rerun this job again.

Pipeline configuration

There is a set of attributes, which can be set for each pipeline, step and job, described in the sections below

Pipelines scheduling

When you run a job plan, you can run immediately or click the 'Schedule' button to schedule it on the calendar for later execution. You can set the following attributes:

  • Starts on: Start date time for the schedule feature.
  • Repeats: Current options are: Never, Minutely, Hourly, Weekly, Daily, Monthly and Yearly.
  • Repeats every: interval value.
  • Repeats on (only weekly): Options are Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri, Sat
  • Ends on: End date time for repeat intervals.

Step configuration

Between each set of paralle or branched project/targets, you add a 'Pipeline Step. Pipeline steps are added with the '+Step' button. After adding the step, configure it by double clicking, right click 'Edit" or clicking the green 'Edit' button.

Depending on which plugins are installed, select from the list of available steps.

Project Job configuration:

Select any Project Job component from any step in the pipeline and press edit button or double click the component. A dialog is shown and there you can configure job, current settings:

  • Project: Select the project name from drop down list or type for auto complete feature. Once the project is selected, the targets and versions are auto completed and available to be selected.
  • Target: Select the target name from drop down list or type for auto complete feature. Once the target is selected, custom credentials settings panel is enabled or disabled depending on the type of target server. Currently only SSH transport plugin associated to the target server is able to set custom connection credentials.
  • Version: Select the package version from drop down list or type for auto complete feature. Once the version selected, the Late Configuration panel is enabled or disable if there is any configuration left to set. There are two additional versions available to be selected called NEW VERSION and LATEST VERSION. NEW VERSION selection creates a new package version every time the pipeline is executed and then set this one for the job. LATEST VERSION selection sets the latest version available every time pipeline is executed.
  • Continue On Failure: Determines whether the failure of the job on the specified target should cause pipeline to fail or not.

Promotion Job configuration:

Select any Promotion Job component from any step in the pipeline and press edit button or double click the component. A dialog is shown and there you can configure job, current settings:

  • Project: Select the project name from drop down list or type for auto complete feature. Once the project is selected the versions are auto completed and available to be selected.
  • Version: Select the package version from drop down list or type for auto complete feature. There are two additional versions available to be selected called NEW VERSION and LATEST VERSION. NEW VERSION creates a new package version every time the pipeline is executed and then set this one for the job. LATEST VERSION sets the latest available version every time pipeline is executed.
  • Continue On Failure: Determines whether the failure of the job on the specified target should cause pipeline to fail or not.

Viewing Previous jobs

You can list all previous jobs, check deployment logs, or rerun deployments from this page. When rerunning a deployment, the modifications which was set in the New Deployment wizard will not take effect.

See the Viewing previous jobs page for more detailed information.

Viewing Running jobs

All currently running jobs are listed on the page. You can check the progress details by clicking in each job entry:

  • A list of tasks will be shown with a progress bar by each, and an overall progress bar.
  • At the bottom of the task list a '+' button can be clicked, which will show real-time logging of the job
  • You can download the deployment log file or cancel the job entry by using the action buttons on the right.

Jobs which have just finished, can be checked from the current view until the user clicks on "clear finished jobs" button or refresh the page.

See the Viewing running jobs page for more detailed information.

Scheduled jobs

The jobs scheduled for future deployment can be viewed on this page.